Choose a
Different State

Go

FAQ

Our Frequently Asked Questions

At LowestPriceTrafficSchool.com we've made our courses as easy as possible to complete however we do understand that you may have a question or two. Below you'll find our most frequently asked questions. If you don't find your answer here feel free to contact our friendly customer service team by phone or email.

How old do I need to be before I can sign up for any of the courses?

Under Florida DMV guidelines, you must be 14 years old or older to sign up and complete a driver ed learner permit course. You may not apply for your learners permit until your 15th Birthday.

What do I need to bring with me when getting my learner permit/driver license?

The DMV requires that you bring the TLSAE/4-hour drug and alcohol awareness course certificate and the identification documents listed in the front of the Florida Driver Handbook to their office to purchase the Learners Permit license. We have included an excerpt from the Handbook regarding the required identification documents below.

Florida law requires identification, proof of date of birth and social security number (if issued), before a driver license or identification card can be issued. Each U.S. citizen who applies for an original driver license or identification card must submit one of the following three documents:

  1. Original or certified United States birth certificate, including territories and District of Columbia; or
  2. Valid United States passport; or
  3. Certificate of Naturalization

You must also submit the original or certified copy of one of the following:

  1. Social Security Card.
  2. School record stating date of birth, which must contain the registrar's signature.
  3. Transcript of the birth record filed with a public officer charged with the duty of recording certificates.
  4. Baptism certificate, which shows date of birth and the place of baptism.
  5. An insurance policy on the customer's life which has been in force for at least two years and has the month, day and year of birth.
  6. United States military or military dependent identification card.
  7. Florida or out-of-state driver license, valid or expired.
  8. Florida license record or identification card record.
  9. Selective Service Registration (Draft Card).
  10. Florida Vehicle Registration certificate (HSMV 83399, owner's copy) obtained from the tax collector's office where the customer's vehicle was registered, Florida, or out-of-state registration certificate, if name and date of birth are shown.
  11. Florida and out-of-state non-driver identification cards (state issued).
  12. Receipt copy of your last Florida driver license issuance.
  13. Immigration form I-571.
  14. Federal form DD-214 (military record).
  15. Marriage certificate.
  16. Court order, which includes legal name.
  17. A Florida voter registration card, which was issued at least 3 months previously.
  18. Personal identification by an examiner or by a person well known to the examiner.
  19. Family bible record or birth announcement in baby book.
  20. Parent consent form of minor.
  21. Out-of-country driver license or identification card, government issued.

If you are under the age of 18, you must also bring the following:

  1. Proof of completion of a driver ed course: the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Course
  2. A Parental Consent Form which must be notarized or signed in the presence of a Driver License Examiner

What do the Florida DMV written exams cover?

The written tests consist of the following:

  1. 20 multiple choice questions regarding the rules of the road. You must have at least 15 correct answers in order to pass and receive a learner permit.
  2. 20 multiple choice questions regarding road signs. You must have at least 15 correct answers in order to pass and receive a learner permit.

You also must pass a vision test using an eye machine with 20/40 or better in both eyes, with or without corrective lenses.

Is this the official Florida online DMV written exam?

Yes, the Florida Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles has authorized LowestPriceTrafficSchool.com to provide the DMV's written test online. The eligible ages for the online driver license written exams are 14, 15, 16, and 17. Any new driver 18 years or over taking the DMV Test must take it at a local DMV Office.

What are my driving privileges when I turn 15?

When you turn 15, you are eligible to earn a learner permit license if you have completed a driver ed course. You must hold your learner permit license for at least twelve months (or until you turn 18) before applying for a full license. Your learner license is valid for six years and is renewable. When you first receive your learner permit license, you are only permitted to drive from 6 am until 7 pm with a licensed driver 21 years of age or older occupying the seat closest to the right of you. After three months, you are permitted to drive until 10 pm with a licensed driver 21 years of age or older occupying the seat closest to the right of you. A learner permit does not give you the right to operate a motorcycle.

What are my driving privileges when I turn 16?

Once you turn 16, you are eligible to earn a full Florida driver license. In order to earn a full Florida driver license, you must meet the following criteria:

  1. You must have had a learner license for at least 12 months without a traffic conviction. Teens issued a traffic citation may elect to attend traffic school in order to avoid a conviction.
  2. Your parent or guardian must certify that you have at least 50 hours of behind the wheel driving experience, 10 hours of which occurred at night.

Once you receive your Florida driver license, you will only be permitted to drive between 6 am and 11 pm unless you have a licensed driver 21 years of age or older occupying the seat closest to you or you are driving to or from work.

What are my driving privileges once I turn 17?

Once you turn 17, you are eligible to earn a full Florida driver license. In order to earn a Florida driver license, you must meet the following criteria:

  1. You must have had a learner license for at least 12 months without a traffic conviction. Teens issued a traffic citation may elect to attend traffic school in order to avoid a conviction.
  2. Your parent or guardian must certify that you have at least 50 hours of behind the wheel driving experience, 10 hours of which occurred at night.

Once you receive your Florida driver license or if you received your Florida driver license prior to your 17th birthday, you will only be permitted to drive between 5 am and 1 am unless you have a licensed driver 21 years of age or older occupying the seat closest to you or you are driving to or from work.

What happens if I get a traffic ticket before I turn 18?

Teens issued a traffic ticket may elect to attend traffic school in order to avoid a conviction. You can only attend traffic school once every twelve months and only 5 times in your entire life. If you receive 6 points on your driving record within 12 months, your driving privileges will automatically be restricted to work purposes for 12 months or until you turn 18. If you receive additional points during your restricted period, the 12 months restriction period will be extended 90 days for each additional point. If you are under the age of 21, stopped by a law enforcement officer, and have a blood alcohol level of .02% or more, you will receive an administrative suspension of 6 months. It is imperative to avoid speeding tickets and other traffic tickets to maintain a good record for insurance and full driving privilege. The following are a list of traffic infractions and the points associated with them:

What are the benefits of attending a driver ed/driver improvement course?

Attending a driver ed/driver improvement course will result in the following:

  1. No points will be assessed against your driving record.*
  2. Your insurance company cannot impose any additional premium or refuse to renew a policy for vehicle insurance solely because the insured committed a non-criminal traffic infraction with the exceptions of a second infraction within 18 months, a third infraction in 36 months, or exceeding the speed limit by more than 15 mph.*

*Pursant to Florida Statute 318.14(9)

What should I do if I am involved in a crash with an unattended vehicle?

If you are involved in a crash with an unattended vehicle, you must give the owner of the vehicle your name, address, and tag number in person if possible. If you are unable to find the owner, you must attach the information in a note to the object that was hit. You must also report the accident immediately to the appropriate law enforcement agency.

What does my school attendance record have to do with my driving?

According to the Florida Statutes, once a student accumulates 15 or more unexcused absences in a period of 90 calendar days will be unable to receive or maintain driving privileges.

What do cigarettes have to do with my driving?

In the state of Florida, if you are convicted of possession of tobacco products before the age of 18, you driving privileges will be suspended.

What is the Zero Tolerance rule?

The Zero Tolerance rule means that drivers under the age of 21 with a blood alcohol level of .02% or more will have their Florida driver licenses suspended immediately for six months. A second offense will result in a one year suspension. Refusal to submit to blood alcohol testing will result in a twelve month driver license suspension. A second refusal will result in an eighteen month suspension.

Is automobile insurance required when I register my vehicle?

Yes. If you own a vehicle with at least four wheels and are registering it, you must have insurance. The state of Florida has two motor vehicle insurance laws. The first is the Financial Responsibility Law which requires operators and owners of motor vehicles to be financially responsible for injuries and/or damages they may cause to others when a traffic crash occurs. The second is the No-Fault Law which requires anyone who owns or has registered a vehicle in their name to carry Personal Injury Protection and Property Damage Liability insurance. You must maintain insurance coverage during the entire time that a vehicle with four or more wheels is registered in your name.

What if I fail to keep insurance on my vehicle that I've registered in Florida?

The Florida DMV Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles may suspend your driver license, including your vehicle tag and registration, for up to three years or until proof of required insurance is provided, whichever occurs first.

What should I do if I am involved in an automobile crash?

According to the Florida Driver's Handbook, your responsibilities in the event of a traffic crash are:

  1. Stop. If you are in a crash while driving, you must stop. If anyone is hurt, you must get help. You must also be ready to give your name, address, and vehicle registration number and show your driver license to others involved in the crash.
  2. Report the crash. If the crash causes injury, death, or property damage, it must be reported. Call the local police, the Florida Highway Patrol, or the county sheriff's office. If the crash involves a charge of driving under the influence (DUI) or results in death, injury, or property damage to the extent a wrecker must tow a vehicle, the officer will fill out a report. If property damage appears to be over $100 and no report is written by an officer, you must make a written report of the crash to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles within 10 days. The officer will provide you with a copy of the form for your records.
  3. Move your car if it is blocking traffic. If your car is blocking the flow of traffic, you must move it. If you cannot move it yourself, you must get help or call a tow truck. This is true any time your vehicle is blocking the flow of traffic whether it has been involved in a crash or not.
  4. Appear in court. If you are charged in a driving crash, you may have to go to court. The officer who comes to the scene of the crash will file charges against any driver who violated a traffic law. Anyone who is charged will have a chance to explain to the court what happened. The court will then decide what the penalty is. Anyone who is not charged with violating the law may have to come to court as a witness. If you are found at fault in a collision where anyone is injured and transported to a medical treatment facility or it is your second collision in a two-year period, you will be required by law to attend a Traffic Collision Avoidance Course. The traffic school that conducts this course can be found in the yellow pages of your local telephone book under Driving Instruction.

A driver convicted of leaving the scene of a crash involving death or personal injury will have his or her license revoked. The driver is also subject to criminal penalties.

Do you offer the Florida Learners Permit course in Spanish?

Yes, we offer the course in Spanish. You can register for the Florida DMV online course in Spanish by clicking here

How much is this going to cost me?

We strive to provide the lowest price traffic school in the state where you received your traffic ticket or speeding ticket. Other competing classroom and online Traffic Schools and defensive driving courses and programs typically cost 5-75% more. Many states, such as Florida, require us to collect a state assessment fee. For the Florida DMV, Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles, there is a $2.50 state assessment fee. Depending upon the state, there may also be a certificate shipping and handling fee for mailing the certificate to you. For video customers and classroom customers only, there is a $7.50 test grading and classroom surcharge.

Why is your price so much lower than the other traffic schools?

  1. No middleman. We own the course, so there are no franchise fees to pay.
  2. We keep our overhead low.
  3. We don't spend a million dollars advertising in yellow pages!

When will I get my certificate?

Your certificate of completion will be processed as soon as you complete the course online and we can send it to you the same day via email or regular mail.

If you are under the purview of the Florida state DMV, you may require expedited delivery of your Florida traffic school certificate of completion. We offer overnight delivery via mail or electronic certificates via email for a nominal fee.

Can I take the course immediately? Can I take it in sections?

Yes, you can take the course immediately, and you can take the course in sections or do it all at once. It is your choice when and how long you want to work on the course. Many of our customers take the course at work during breaks or late in the evenings at home. Of course, if you prefer, you can sign up for one of our classroom traffic school locations.

Is this course state approved?

Yes, it is approved by the appropriate state approving agency.

Do I need any special type of computer to get on the program?

No. As long as you can get to the Internet, you can use our program.

Do you offer an audio read-along?

Yes. Our Audio Express feature is designed to help you finish the course the fast and easy way. You'll be able to pause or go back as many times as you like - which will help make passing the final exam a breeze! With Audio Express, you'll be finished in no time! Just sit back, relax, and enjoy the high quality listening experience that so many people are talking about. Almost 60% of our customers choose this option already!

Are there videos to download?

No. There are absolutely no downloading requirements.

Can I do the course from several different computers? Like both at home and at work or school? Can I work on it from a friend's house?

Yes. You may do the course from someone else's computer.

I don't have a computer. Can I still take the course?

Yes. You may use a computer at the public library or Kinko's or any place that allows access to a computer that can go on the Internet.

What's your phone number?

You can reach a customer service representative of our traffic school in Florida at the following times:

Monday - Friday 9am - 6pm EST
Saturday Closed
Sunday Closed
Toll Free 1-800-729-2495

To sign up only, please call 1-800-Pay-24.95. However, by signing up at our Florida web traffic school online, you really help us keep our prices the lowest in the industry.

How do you know it is me taking the program and not someone else?

You are taking the course under penalty of perjury. We assume most people would not commit a crime to let someone else take the course for them. Additionally, we do ask a series of personal security questions to identify you while online.

Do I need a printer to take the program?

No, you do not need a printer. The only thing you may want to print out would be the verification of passing the final exam at the end of the course. However, we will mail you an official State of Florida certificate of completion through the regular mail.

I am hearing impaired. How do I book a course?

You are welcome to sign up for our online course. If you wish to attend a classroom course, please dial 711 from your phone to be connected to your local relay service. They can connect you to us by dialing 1-800-729-1997. You may also email us at support@lowestpricetrafficschool.com. Once you reach one of our highly trained staff, you will be connected to a supervisor who will get you registered for an available course and provide you with a sign language interpreter or other required accommodation.

I am new to the Internet. Is this course hard to follow?

No. Many of our customers are new to computers and to the Internet. We have designed this course for beginners and you need no special computer skills. We are also always available to help you via telephone or E-Mail.

How many times can I elect to attend a traffic school or driver improvement course?

Under Florida DMV guidelines, you can elect to attend a driver improvement course only once in any 12-month period and no more than five times in a lifetime. Other states vary. For questions, please call 1-800-729-2495.

Ch. Law 2010-198 HB 631 Motor Vehicles Effective 07/01/10 - 318.14(9) - Drivers are limited in the number of traffic school elections they may make in order to avoid points, to no more than 5 in a lifetime.

Can I take the traffic ticket course if I have a CDL license?

Unfortunately, holders of Commercial Driver's Licenses (CDL) are not eligible to elect traffic school per Florida Statute 318.14.

If I have a Florida License, but get a ticket in another state, can I take the BDI Course to remove the points from my driving record?

No. Per FL statute 322.27(3)(e), taking the BDI course for point removal only qualifies for tickets issued in the state of Florida. If you received your traffic violation in another state, the BDI course will not work to remove the points from your driving record.

What does a driver record report include?

  • Driver's license and identification cards issued, along with all traffic school courses and driving exams you've taken
  • Guilty convictions of traffic violations (within 3 or 7 years of the conviction date).
  • Open suspensions, revocations, cancellations, disqualifications of your driving privileges
  • Suspensions, revocations, cancellations, and disqualifications cleared within 3 or 7 years of the request date, unless retention is met and entry has been purged. Also D-6 suspensions once cleared are transferred to correspondence entries and would not appear on 3 or 7-year records. However, if a conviction for driving while license canceled, revoked or suspended is on the record, D-6 suspensions will not transfer to correspondence. Also, on records of CDL drivers D-6s will not transfer to correspondence.
  • Crash entries, within 3 or 7 years of the crash date, when a traffic citation was issued as a direct result of the accident.

Do you offer the online FloridaTraffic School in Spanish?

Yes, our Florida DMV approved traffic school course is available in Spanish

Is this the official DMV Test?

Yes, the Florida Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles has authorized LowestPriceTrafficSchool.com to provide the DMV's written test online.

What if I have already taken the Drug and Alcohol Course?

If you completed the course at LowestPriceTrafficSchool.com, then simply log in to www.LowestPriceTrafficSchool.com with your user ID and password to take the DMV Exam online. However, the Florida DHSMV does not require you to take the exam with the same school in which you completed your Drug and Alcohol Course.

I took the Drug and Alcohol Course somewhere else. Can I take the DMV Test online here?

Yes. The Florida DHSMV allows the student to complete the online exam with any authorized provider, but you cannot take any part of the exam more than three times.

What identification do I need to complete the online exam?

To complete the exam online you will need to provide the following student identification information:

  • Full Name
  • Date of Birth
  • Gender
  • Social Security Number (SSN)

If you have not been issued a Social Security Number, then you can provide one of the following: 1. Alien Registration Number or 2. Admissions Number. For a list of documentation requirements to receive a driver's license or ID card please visit http://gathergoget.com/

How old do you have to be to take the DMV written test online?

The eligible ages for the online driver license exams are 14, 15, 16, and 17. Any new driver 18 years of age or over taking the DMV Test must take it at a local DMV Office.

How does the DMV Online Exam work?

The Knowledge Base exam consists of two parts, Road Rules and Road Signs, each with 20 questions. The tests are timed and you must answer each question within the 50 second allotted or else it will be counted as a wrong answer. You must answer 15 questions correctly or 75% on both parts of the exam in order to pass.

What if I fail the online exam?

If you fail the online Florida DMV Exam the first time, don't worry! You are allowed two re-takes if you do not pass on your first attempt, although there is a re-test fee each time. If you are still unsuccessful after three attempts you will be required to go to the driver's license or tax collectors office and request a re-test. You do not have to take all re-takes from the same school and you are able to take the retake at the driver's license office.

DHSMV Approved

Why
Choose
Us?

Florida Driver Handbook

For almost a decade we have been the exclusive provider of the Florida Driver Handbook. You can put your trust in us to provide a quality Driver's Ed course too!

Our experts are here to help
(800) 729-1997

Express Shipping

Take Your Course Today and Get Your Certificate in Hours!

Customer Satisfaction
Low Price Guarantee