Changes to Florida’s DUI Law
May 8, 2014
Without much fanfare, the 2014 Florida legislature passed a transportation bill that included changes to Florida’s DUI law and installation of Ignition Interlock Devices (IID) for first time DUI offenders.
Under the current law, judges are required to order installation of an IID for anyone convicted of a second or subsequent DUI offense or for a first time DUI offender who, at the time of arrest, had a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of .015 or higher or who were transporting a passenger under the age of 18. IID’s must be installed for a minimum of six months for a first time offender and two years for a second offense. IID’s must be installed on all vehicles that are individually or jointly leased or owned and routinely operated by the convicted person.
In the measure just passed by the legislature, judges aren’t required to but have been granted the leeway, if they feel it is warranted, to order installation of an IID for a minimum of six months for first time offenders who had a BAC of .08 or higher.
In addition to installation of an IID for those convicted of DUI, judges also have the leeway to order either; twice daily Breathalyzer tests, continuous transdermal alcohol monitoring, or random blood, breath, urine, or oral fluid testing. Installation and operation of the IID and any drug and alcohol monitoring must be paid for by the convicted individual.
This new law will take effect on July 1, 2014.
MADD Releases Victim Services Report
April 29, 2014
This month Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) released A Voice for Victims: MADD Victim Services Report in connection with National Crime Victims’ Rights Week. The new report focuses on the state of crime victim’s rights across the country. Read more: A Voice for Victims: MADD Victim Services Report
MADD Refuses Donation From Teen Drinking Party Host
April 18, 2014
Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) issued a statement stating they will refuse a donation from a Rhode Island woman who hosted her daughter’s 16th birthday party in which teens were allowed to drink. In return for avoiding jail time, the woman agreed to donate $5,000 to MADD as part of a plea agreement. Saying they could use the money, MADD officials said it would send the wrong message. Read more: Rhode Island Social Host Charge
Car’s Owner Ruled Liable In DUI Case
April 17, 2014
After a long court case, the Florida Supreme Court has ruled that not only the driver but also the registered owner of a vehicle can be held liable in a DUI death case. Read more: Fla. Supreme Court rules after 9-year legal battle
Reducing Drunk / Drugged Driving
March 26, 2014
An Illinois law that requires ALL drivers convicted of DUI to install an interlock device in their vehicle is showing positive results. California is also testing devices for law enforcement use that not only detect alcohol but drugged driving as well. Read more: Illinois Helps Lead Nation in Drunk Driving Prevention