Choose a
Different State


New Florida Residents
18 Years & Older

New Florida residents 18 or older can obtain a Florida driver's license after completing the following requirements.

  1. Completion of the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Course.
    (Only required for those who have NEVER had a driver's license.)
  2. Pass the Florida DMV tests which include:
    • Vision test
    • Hearing test
    • Written knowledge test (Road Rules written test) - Due to the 50% failure rate, it is recommended that you complete the DMV Test Prep Course.
    • Driving test
    Note: Written Exam and Driving Test are not required for those who present their valid out-of-state license.
  3. Provide the following documents to the Florida DMV:
    • Proof of Social Security Number
    • Primary Identification
    • Proof of Address
  4. Pay the Florida DMV licensing fee.

If you are a new FL resident who is 18 or older and have never had a license, make sure your first trip to get it is a success! First, take the required TLSAE course. This is a 4-hour class that covers how drugs and alcohol impair your driving. This course can be completed online and confirmation of completion will be submitted to the FLHSMV electronically. No paper certificate is required.

Next, be ready for the Knowledge Exam. It is a written exam with 50 multiple choice questions. You must get at least 80% of the answers correct in order to pass. You'll be asked questions that test your knowledge of the Florida Drivers Handbook. The failure rate for first-time test takers is 50% so it is important to read the handbook and study. There are online study guides for this test that guarantee a passing score and prevent having to take multiple trips to the FLHSMV office.

Lastly, make sure your paperwork is in order. Visit to easily check your documents before heading to the FLHSMV office.

Standard Value Package

For individuals on a budget or those who are looking for only what they need, and nothing more, we offer the Super Value Combo. This package deal consists of:

See Full Package Details


  • Online 4-Hour Drug & Alcohol (TLSAE) Course  more info

    The 4-hour Drug and Alcohol (TLSAE) course is REQUIRED by the State of Florida before an individual can apply for a learner's permit. If you purchase the course by itself, the price is only $29.95. However, when the course is purchased as part of a value discount package, such as our Ultimate Value Package or Super Value Package, the price is reduced to just $18.50!

  • Practice Tests and Prep Course for DMV Written Exam  more info

    If you don't practice for your DMV examination, there is a real chance that you will fail your written test - don't take that risk. If you complete our DMV Exam Prep Course, we guarantee that you will pass your written driving exam your very first time.

Register Now
Standard Value Package

Take your course today and get your certificate in hours!

Online 4-Hour
Drug & Alcohol (TLSAE) Course

All new drivers in Florida, whether they are Florida residents or new to the state, must complete the 4-hour Traffic Law and Substance Abuse and Education (TLSAE) course, BEFORE they can apply for a learner's permit. We offer this course online for your convenience. Completing our online course will satisfy the state's requirements, allowing you to continue with the process of obtaining your driver's license. Offered at the lowest price, guaranteed, this is the package for you if you're looking to complete the Drug and Alcohol Course and don't require practice tests or the DMV written test.

Learn More


  • Get Your Permit Fast & Easy
  • Study When & Where You Want
  • Stop & Start When You Like

For individuals who would prefer to take the Drug and Alcohol Course in person rather than online, Lowest Price Traffic School also offers this course at convenient classroom locations throughout Florida. Whatever your preferences are, we can help at Lowest Price Traffic School.

Register Now
Drug and Alcohol (TLSAE) Course

Take your course today and get your certificate in hours!

How Prepared Are You?

Now that you have studied your handbook try a free practice test


Order Now

Why waste hours studying the DMV handbook? Try one of our easy and comprehensive online DMV Learner's Permit Practice Tests instead.

Our practice tests feature the same road rules and road signs content from the DMV handbook only we present it in a much more efficient and easier-to-learn format.

Try a Free Sample

Road Rules Practice Test

Road Signs Practice Test

Learn More

Express Shipping

Take Your Course Today and Get Your Certificate in Hours!

Why Choose Our Course?

Florida Driver Handbook

Exclusive provider of the Official Florida Driver Handbook, 2003-2011. You can put your trust in us to provide a quality Driver's Ed course too!

Our experts are here to help
(800) 729-1997