Florida Motorcycle Handbook: Motorcycle Licensing
3. Earning your License
Safe riding requires knowledge and skill. Assessing your own skills is not enough. People often overestimate their own abilities. It's even harder for friends and relatives to be totally honest about your skills. To ensure that you have the training and skills necessary to operate a motorcycle safely, you will be required to complete a motorcycle safety course before obtaining a motorcycle endorsement. If you are coming from another state and your license is endorsed for motorcycle operation, Florida will reciprocate the endorsement and the motorcycle course will not be required. (Except Alabama)
3.2.1 - Age Limitations
No one under 16 years of age may legally operate or be licensed to operate any of the following two or three-wheel motor vehicles on Florida roads, streets or highways: motorcycles, mopeds, motor-driven cycles, motorized scooters or electric helper-motor bicycles as defined in s. 316.003(2) F.S.
3.2.2 - Restrictions
Persons holding a Florida Learner's Driver's License may not legally operate or be licensed to operate any two or three wheel motor vehicles on Florida roads, streets or highways regardless of his or her age (Per s. 322.1615 F.S.) Persons passing the motorcycle skills test using a three-wheel motorcycle or sidecar motorcycle will have their license restricted to operating three-wheel motorcycles only until or unless they pass the skills test on a two-wheel motorcycle.
3.2.3 - Issuance Requirements
Motorcycle Also License
All persons requesting a motorcycle endorsement:
- Must hold a Class E license or higher or meet the requirements for a Class E license.
- Must complete a motorcycle safety course, BRC or
- Provide an out-of-state license with a motorcycle endorsement (except Alabama).
Motorcycle Only License
- Must hold a Learner's License at least 12 months or until the 18th birthday prior to the issuance of a Class E Motorcycle Only license.
- Must have NO moving traffic violation convictions 12 months from the issue date of the learner's license.
- Must provide completion of an approved motorcycle safety course.
- Pass the vision, road sign and road rule examinations or hold a current Learner's License.
- Must provide completion of an approved motorcycle safety course. OR,
- Provide an out-of-state motorcycle only license (except Alabama).
Motorcycle Safety Course Completion
The following courses meet Florida's motorcycle rider course requirements for a motorcycle endorsement:
- Certificate of completion from an approved Motorcycle Rider Course, BRC. A list of the approved Florida providers is available in the back of this handbook.
- Law enforcement officers presenting a certificate of completion from a motorcycle training course sponsored by the Institute of Police Technology and Management.
- A Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF) sponsored, rider course conducted by any branch of the military service.
3.2.4 - Mopeds
Moped operators have the same rights and duties as motor vehicle operators and can also receive citations for traffic violations; therefore, they should know and obey these moped laws.
- Moped operators must be at least 16 years old and hold at least a Class E License to operate a moped on public streets or roadways. A learner's license is not sufficient. (Mopeds fit the definition of motor vehicle in 322.01(26).
- A motorcycle endorsement is not required to operate a moped.
- Mopeds must be registered annually and a tag must be purchased.
- Mopeds may not be operated on bicycle paths or footpaths when operated using the motor.
- Moped operators do not have to carry PIP insurance.
- A moped is defined in s. 320.01(28) F.S. as any vehicle with pedals to permit propulsion by human power, having a seat or saddle for the use of the rider and designated to travel on not more than three wheels, with a motor rated not in excess of 2-brake horsepower and not capable of propelling the vehicle at a speed greater than 30 miles per hour on level ground, and with a power-driving system that functions directly or automatically without clutching or shifting gears by the operator after the drive system is engaged. If an internal combustion engine is used, the displacement may not exceed 50 cubic centimeters.
3.2.5 - Motorized Scooters: (Not Legal on Public Streets or Sidewalks)
Though considered motor vehicles in section 322.01(26) Florida Statutes and tag/registration law, the registration laws do not provide for registration of these vehicles, thus they cannot be operated on public streets or highways. If operated on a public roadway anyway, regardless of a person's age, law enforcement officers can require the person to show at least a valid operator (Class E) license as per driver license law they are considered motor vehicles (Statute Ref: s. 322.03(1) and 322.01(26). F.S.)
Check out our Customer Reviews!