Florida Driver Handbook: Point SystemOrder now
4. Driving Privilege
- 4.1. Driving a Motor Vehicle in Florida is a Privilege You Earn
- 4.2. Point System
- 4.3. Red Light Cameras/Infractions
- 4.4. Mandatory Restriction for Minors
- 4.5. Zero Tolerance
- 4.6. Driving While Under the Influence
- 4.7. Other Serious Violations of the License Law
- 4.8. Administrative Hearings
- 4.9. Florida Motor Vehicle Insurance Laws
- 4.10. Traffic Crashes
- 4.11. Littering
- 4.12. Road Damage
Texting while Driving - No penalty on first offense, subsequent offense penalties as follows:
|Two points are added to the primary offense if texting occurred in a school zone||3|
|Six points are added if the texting offense resulted in a crash||3|
|Unlawful speed - 15 MPH or less over lawful or posted speed||3|
|Unlawful speed - 16 MPH or more over lawful or posted speed||4|
|Unlawful speed resulting in a crash||6|
|Leaving the scene of a crash resulting in property damage of more than $50||6|
|Any moving violation resulting in a crash||4|
|Passing a stopped school bus||4|
|Violation of traffic control signal/sign/device (red lights) (if camera-enforced, no points will be assessed)||4|
|All other moving violations (including parking on a highway outside the limits or municipalities)||3|
|Violation of curfew||3|
|Open container as an operator||3|
|Child restraint violation||3|
- The fine for exceeding the speed limit by more than 50 mph is $1,000 for the first offense and $2,500 for the second.
- Fines are doubled when infractions occur within a school zone or construction zone, with possible civil penalties up to $1,000 and can be required to complete driving school course.
- The driver receives the same number of points listed if the conviction occurs out-of-state or in a federal court.
Length of Suspension
|12 points within a 12-month period||(30 days)|
|18 points within a 18-month period||(3 months)|
|24 points within a 36-month period||(1-year)|
In computing points and suspensions, the offense dates of all convictions are used. Three points will be deducted from the driver record of any person whose driving privilege has been suspended only once under the point system and has been reinstated, if such person has complied with all other requirements.
NOTE: A point suspension does not prohibit these convictions from being used to accumulate additional suspensions or revocations.
Check out our Customer Reviews!